Community Recycling Centres Now Open

The REROC Waste Forum successfully received funding or $705,720 to establish eleven new Community Recycling Centres (CRCs)  under the NSW Government's Waste Less Recycle More initiative. 

The eleven centres, which were officially opened between August and October 2016, allow residents to drop off problem wastes for free that cannot be put in kerbside bins including:

  • water-based and oil-based paints
  • used motor and cooking oils
  • lead-acid batteries and hand-held batteries
  • gas cylinders and fire extinguishers
  • smoke detectors
  • conventional tubes and fluorescent lights
  • e-waste

The initiative builds on the existing CleanOut events that are held every two years in the REROC region by providing permanent and convenient drop-off locations that are easily and readily accessible for householders.

The CRCs are located at landfill and transfer stations in the following council areas:

  • Bland (West Wyalong)
  • Coolamon
  • Cootamundra
  • Greater Hume (Culcairn)
  • Gundagai
  • Junee
  • Lockhart
  • Temora
  • Tumbarumba
  • Tumut
  • Urana

For further infomation on the CRCs, including their locations and opening hours, please visit or alternatively download the brochure below. 

Cristy Houghton